Or maybe even better, an easy accessible way to switch between “automatic rerouting on” and “rerouting off”.
If you need a reroute button, you have lost your carefully planned route anyway and may want switch over to “automatic rerouting”. If you are already thinking about a context sensitive menu, that is only active when in navigation mode, such a switch might fit there.
Yes, fine. I just wanted to add a new topic for this. Permanent re-routing is a mess, especially when no offline-re-routing is available, so switching off by default is good. But as soon as the friendly voice tells me that I have left my route, there could a button made visible to switch on automatic-rerouting. Same Button can act as a toggle to switch it back to “not re-route” again.
If this is technically possible to check before, if an internet connection is available, yes, this would be good.
Or alternatively if the button is a toggle which stops the recalculation immediately, then it can just be pressed again when there is no internet connection.
The re-calculation without internet connection is really a mess as long as there is no real offline re-calculation available, it acts like an endless loop.
At a first glance I thought this is a good idea. Thinking more about it, I am not sure anymore
I am not a fan of this buttons cluttering the map.
Especially when riding off the route, I want to see as much as possible of the map.
All in all, I think a reduced menu, which is only active in navigation mode would be better. There a toggle switch automatic reroutingon off would fit perfect.
Is the “force re-calculation” no longer an issue?
What about long-pressing the GPS symbol on the right hand to force calculation? No new button, but a good ON DEMAND function which is not triggered undesired.
I definitely support the proposal of having the possibility to force the rerouting but especially for the route creation. If I have to edit the route without internet connection (e.g. in a rural area) and get internet connection later, I have to change a setting in Routing–>Optionen in order to trigger a rerouting.
I fully support this request. But this multiple use of button I don’t like.
Suggestion: when leaving the route, a sign with exclamation mark appears. Tap on sign to start recalculation would be very convenient.